Why?

We all have dreams, and sometimes our dreams are hard to explain to others. For example, me wanting a black belt. Why does it matter? Isn’t being able to fly enough? Why do I need a belt to tell me or others that I can do martial arts? (note, ninjas can only fly on special occasions)

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately and my husband and I even had a discussion about why we each want to earn our black belts. This is what I came up with:

To me a black belt signifies my accomplishment and dedication. Sure it would be cool just to tell people that I have a black belt, but if I wanted bragging rights, I could just buy one for 50 bucks online. Its like becoming a minister. There are lots of ways to obtain a minister’s licence but only the individual can tell you if it’s for real or not. Once I earn my belt, I probably won’t show it to many people, in fact I doubt most people outside of my family would even know I had one, simply because I’m not training for anyone else other than myself.

I think I need to explain a little about my personality. I tend to jump from interest to interest. I find something I like and it rarely stays with me for more than a month. Mostly when I feel the challenge is gone is when I let something go. I like to work my brain. Martial arts is still challenging to me, in a good way. It will take me my whole life to master even one art. The repetition can be daunting sometimes, but that is why I enjoy training in 3 art simultaneously. I don’t have time to get bored because I’m too busy trying to remember Saifa and grappling techniques and wrist locks. The world of martial arts is a vast but also closed society. It can truly offer something to everyone.

I’m drawn to this. I’ve found a balance in martial arts. I want the challenge and I want the achievement that comes from hard work. I get my need for diversity and can still work toward a tangible goal. I can be creative and guided in my expression. I learn self-defense and inner peace. Totally like Kung Fu Panda, you have no idea. 🙂

Martial arts is not appealing to everyone, I know that. It’s certainly not what I expected it to be. It is so much better.

Leave a Reply

